Dynamic Chiropractic – March 13, 1992, Vol. 10, Issue 06

Northwestern Names President-Elect

By Editorial Staff
The board of trustees of Northwestern College of Chiropractic appointed Dr. John F. Allenburg president-elect during the college's homecoming celebration February 8, 1992.

"We are currently completing final negotiations on Dr.

Allenburg's contract," said Dr. David Czeck, chairman of the college's board of trustees. Dr. Czeck and other NWCC officials anticipate that Dr. Allenburg will begin his tenure as president in early March.

Dr. Allenburg is only the third president in Northwestern's 50 year history: NWCC's founder and first president was Dr. John B. Wolfe. Donald M. Cassata, Ph.D., held the presidency from October of 1984 until his resignation in July 1991. Since Dr. Cassata stepped down, Mr. George G. Walker, Jr., has presided over the college as acting president.

A 1951 graduate of Logan College of Chiropractic, Dr. Allenburg's career at NWCC spans 21 years. He has served as clinic director (1964-72); dean of clinics (1973-76); and held the position of chief academic officer (1976-85).

After leaving NWCC, Dr. Allenburg became a senior partner in a company that operates five chiropractic clinics in the Twin Cities. He continued to remained active in the college's affairs by chairing NWCC's Minnesota Capital Fund Campaign for the Wolfe-Harris Center for Clinical Studies and holding the title of dean emeritus.

Dr. Allenburg is presently a site evaluation team leader for the Council on Chiropractic Education (CCE)'s accreditation commission. His past credits include: vice chair and acting chair of the Commission on Accreditation (COA); member of the RAND Corporation's highly touted consensus panel on spinal manipulative treatment; and recipient of Minnesota's "Chiropractor of the Year" award.


To report inappropriate ads, click here.