Printer Friendly Email a Friend PDF RSS Feed

Dynamic Chiropractic – November 4, 1994, Vol. 12, Issue 23

American Black Chiropractic Assoc. Holds 13th National Conference

By Editorial Staff
"Friends of Chiropractic Working Together Naturally," was the theme of the ABCA's annual national conference, which attracted about 200 participants to Irvine, California, August 17-21. Led by Dr. Cal Whitworth, ABCA president, the conference included academic seminars, organizational meetings, and keynote lectures.

Dr. Bobby Westbrooks, who founded the ABCA in St. Louis, Missouri in 1981, received the association's "Chiropractor of the Year" award for his work as the organization's executive director. Mrs. Westbrooks received an award of appreciation from the spouses auxiliary for her support and dedication.

CCCLA sponsored the relicensing seminar presented by Dr. George LeBeau, "Sports Injury: Diagnosis, Treatment and Prevention"; Dr. Edwin Floyd presented "Energy Medicine: Healing in the 21st Century"; Dr. Kenneth Luedtke of the ACA PAC gave a presentation on national politics relating to health care reform; and Dr. William Dallas, president of Western States Chiropractic College, presented "The Doctor of Chiropractic as Primary Care Provider."

The conference also featured a panel of college presidents discussing chiropractic philosophy (mixers and straights), which included Dr. Reed Phillips (LACC), Dr. George Goodman (Logan), Dr. William Dallas (Western States), and Dr. Shelby Elliot (TCC).

Dr. Reed Phillips, vice president of the Association of Chiropractic Colleges, presented six students $1,000 scholarships to ABCA students on behalf of the ACC:

Carlton Middleton -- Life College Monique Anthony -- Southern California College of Chiropractic Robert James -- National College Madeline Washington -- Texas Chiropractic College Debra Jones -- Life College Rodney Arnold -- Northwestern College of Chiropractic

Dr. Morton Lowry, ACA chairman of the board, presented five students $500 scholarships on the ACA's behalf:

Althea M. Brown -- Life College
Dionne K. McCain -- LACC
Ursula Funderbruk -- LACC
Connie Lynch -- Life College
Stacey L. Nicholson -- NYCC

Dr. Herman Glass II presented three $500 scholarships on behalf of the ICA:

Bernadette Merrick -- Life College
Stacey Johnson -- Palmer College
Rochelle La Vette Smith -- Life West

ABCA institutional awards went to CCLA, Life College, Life West Logan, LACC, TCC, and Western States.


To report inappropriate ads, click here.